Yesterday at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, the winners of the 2020 Youth Media Awards were announced. Some of our Public Services staff got together to watch the live webcast of the award announcements and root for our favorites in real time.

You can find the entire list of award winners and honor books here. We want to say a hearty congratulations to the authors and illustrators who were awarded this year! Congratulations to…

Jerry Craft, author of the 2020 Newbery Medal winner, New Kid. Available at the library in print, on CD audiobook, and downloadable e-book.

Kadir Nelson, illustrator of the 2020 Caldecott Medal winner, The Undefeated. Available at the library in print.

A.S. King, author of the 2020 Printz Medal winner, Dig. Available at the library in print.

And to all the authors and illustrators honored and awarded yesterday – check out the full list here!

— Abby Johnson, Collection Development Leader