fbpx

Staff Blog

/Staff Blog/

Books for the Maple Syrup Festival!

This weekend and next weekend the Maple Syrup Festival is going on at LM Sugarbush Farm in Salem. Are you going? Have you been? It's always a fun time and great chance to purchase some locally made, delicious maple syrup. And after you visit the Maple Syrup Festival, you might want to come on home, [...]

By | February 25th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Love Your Pets!

February 20 is National Love Your Pet Day! What's almost as good as a pet? A good picture book about pets! We have lots of great ones here at the library just waiting to be checked out! Here are some of our favorites: Aaaarrgghh! Spider! by Lydia Monks Don't be scared! This spider just wants [...]

By | February 20th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Teen and Tween Events at the Library

We have a lot of great events for tweens and teens at the Floyd County Library.  Our Mix-It-Up Monday program meets Monday nights at 5:30.  The first Monday of the month is our Teen Advisory Board where teens can earn volunteer hours and help plan library events.  The last Monday of the month is Anime [...]

By | February 18th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Sick Kids In Love

I recently read this sweet teen romance, Sick Kids in Love by Hannah Moskowitz (find it here in print or here on downloadable e-book via Overdrive) and it's perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (though it's less sad!) or Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott. Isabel doesn't date. It's [...]

By | February 14th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Coretta Scott King Award Winning Books: A Finding Guide

Here's a list of the last ten years' worth of books which have won Coretta Scott King Awards, with links to the copies available through the library. This should make it easier to find these important titles. I'll add older titles and  of titles by award-winning illustrators as the month goes on. 2020: New Kid (Jerry [...]

By | February 12th, 2020|Book Awards|0 Comments

Autoimmunity

Autoimmune diseases run rampant in the world today and it seems that new ones are being discovered all the time.  I was recently diagnosed with an autoimmune disease that most doctors haven't even heard of, let alone know how to treat.  So, I did what any librarian would do.  I began researching for myself.  I [...]

By | February 6th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

A powerful, true account of the criminal justice system

Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson (2014), 336 pages (audiobook on CD) (ebook on Overdrive/Libby) (young adult adaptation)   If you're like me, you've been fortunate enough to avoid much interaction with the criminal justice system.  You may hope, as I always have, that it operates fairly and justly.  But [...]

By | February 4th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Upcoming teen sequels!

2020 is here, which means a new year of book releases. Here are some older titles you may want to catch up on before their sequels drop this year, especially if you like historical teen fantasy novels: Coming February 2020: The Silvered Serpents, sequel to The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi (2019, 388 pages): In [...]

By | January 30th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Congratulations to the 2020 Youth Media Award Winners!

Yesterday at the American Library Association's Midwinter Meeting, the winners of the 2020 Youth Media Awards were announced. Some of our Public Services staff got together to watch the live webcast of the award announcements and root for our favorites in real time. You can find the entire list of award winners and honor books [...]

By | January 28th, 2020|Uncategorized|0 Comments

Eva Education Day

Monday, January 27 is the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz and Governor Holcolm has declared the day "Eva Education Day". Eva Kor was a Holocaust survivor who dedicated most of her life to educating people about the Holocaust. She lived in Terre Haute, IN where she operated a Holocaust museum. She passed away [...]

By | January 23rd, 2020|Uncategorized|1 Comment